Week 47

I have been 42 for 47 weeks now.

It hasn’t been the most exciting week. This, of course, is not a complaint… sometimes it’s nice to be able to have a relaxing week, right?

 

RAISED ON TELEVISION

Lots of great stuff is going on with this project. Early in the week, all of the directors got together (minus one who had a prior commitment) and read through their selected scripts. It was fantastic! We have such a diverse, creative, and entertaining group of directors, I am confident that everyone who attends the show in February will have a great time. We chatted for a while and went over some of the more technical aspects of the show so that I could take that information to The Guild and be sure everything can be addressed.

Yes, so Rod and I did just that. We met with Michelle at The Guild and reviewed all of our questions and had most of them answered. It’s nice to see things coming together.

In addition to that stuff, I have begun some of the marketing things…. logo development, Facebook event page, design for the poster, etc. Although some things have been posted online, the real push for the show won’t start until the New Year after people settle down after the holidays.

I love this project. This kind of work is right in my wheelhouse…. I like having a deadline with lots of pressure to make something a success… completely opposite of my actual job.

 

SPEAKING OF THEATRE

On Sunday, Ivan and I took my parents to see the “A Christmas Carol” (performed by the North Shore Players) at the Watermark Theatre. It was great. Really. The interior of the building is beautiful to be in, and the theatre is so intimate. I really enjoyed how close we were to the action, and how the actors utilized the space (the set changes were so clever!). My parents don’t go out to a lot of theatre, but they love “A Christmas Carol” and both of them really enjoyed the production. Ya. So that was something that I did this week too!

 

FOOTBALL

The Privateers are having off-season training once a month….at the indoor soccer complex in Stratford. This is such a great thing because it keeps the boys in touch with one another when they aren’t playing football, it helps the kids stay fit, AND it gives me time to catch-up with some of the other football parents! There are a few of us who attend all of the football things with our kids, and we’ve become great friends over the course of a couple of years. We always have an interesting story or two to share and a good laugh always happens. We’re just one nutty football family!

If you need to be a part of a nutty family and if you have a child who could do with a little exercise and be a part of a team… might I suggest football? You’re always welcome!

The Privateers are trying to get the city of Charlottetown to build a regulation-sized turf field in town. It’s a big deal and I am doing what I can to support the team. My letter to the editor was in The Guardian this week: http://www.theguardian.pe.ca/opinion/letter-to-the-editor/2016/12/20/city-misses-out-on-football-field.html

I urge you and your friends and family to write a letter to Mayor Clifford Lee to help push this along. The more support the team has, the higher the chances they have at getting a proper football field!

 

READY FOR CHRISTMAS

I am. I think. I have a few things left to wrap… and I have to mail stuff to my family in Ontario (yes, it’ll be like a New Year’s present instead of a Christmas present!), but aside from that, I am done.

It’s a Christmas miracle!

 

THAT’S ALL I HAVE

It’s amazing how short my entries are when there’s not a whole lot going on in my life… lol. To be honest, it’s a refreshing change. J

But to end… with a song… this is one of those songs you only hear at this time of year. I love it.

 

Leave a comment